Athletic Department Wraps Up Year with Awards Ceremony

Athletic Department Wraps Up Year with Awards Ceremony

YORK, PA – The York College Athletic Department celebrated its 2012-13 season with their annual awards ceremony on Friday night in the Waldner Performing Arts Center on the York College Campus.

The ceremony highlighted the standout performances of the season through video highlights of each season. The athletic department also handed out its annual awards.

The evening began with opening remarks from Assistant Dean of Athletics and Recreation Paul Saikia, followed by comments from Dean of Student Affairs Joe Merkle.

After the fall video review, the Spartans presented wrestling coach Tom Kessler with a framed photo as he is leaving the Spartan program after 21 years at the helm of the team. The athletic department also recognized retiring President, Dr. George W. Waldner, for his contributions to the athletic department over his tenure at York College.

The winter video was followed by the presentation of the academic awards. The William DeMeester Team GPA awards were announced first. The Capital Athletic Conference champion golf team, led by conference Coach-of-the-Year Matt Hunter, earned the men’s award with a cumulative GPA of 3.26. The women’s tennis team led by head coach Ryan Weber, finished with an impressive GPA of 3.55.

The individual William DeMeester GPA winners were equally as impressive. The award signifies the senior athletes with the highest cumulative GPA. Senior tennis player Megan McCullin (New Windsor, Md./Westminster Senior) captured the women’s top honors. McCullin owns a perfect 4.0 GPA as a nursing major.  The men’s winner was men’s soccer player Matt DeLong (Millville, Pa./Millville) as he boasts a 3.84 GPA. DeLong is a biology major at York.

After the spring video, the Spartans handed out their three major awards. The Georgia Heathcote Stallman Award, signifying the outstanding senior female athlete, was given to women’s lacrosse All-American Kim Wayson (Harwood, Md./Southern). The Daniel Klinedinst Award, signifying the outstanding senior male athlete, was awarded to men’s track & field standout Phil Cavaluchi (Port Carbon, Pa./Pottsville). The final award of the night, the Jake Jaquet Fighting Heart Award, was presented to senior men’s lacrosse captain Ryan Cassidy (Austin, Texas/Westwood). The Jaquet Fighting Heart award is presented to the student-athlete that displays the best fighting heart. Cassidy helped lead the Spartans to their best record in school history.

Saikia closed out the ceremony by recognizing the senior student-athletes for their contributions to the Spartan programs over the course of their careers.