Athletics Celebrated in Annual Awards Ceremony

Athletics Celebrated in Annual Awards Ceremony

YORK, PA – The York College Department of Athletics had their season-ending Awards Ceremony in the Waldner Performing Arts Center on campus on Friday evening.

The Spartans handed out their three major awards, reviewed the seasonal highlight videos, and announced the individual and team finalists for the Dr. William DeMeester Academic Awards.

The senior trio of Tim Hartung (Mohnton, Pa./Governor Mifflin), Brittany Hicks (Dover, Pa./York Catholic), and Seth Krolus (Westminster, Md./Loyola Blakefield) took home the three major awards to highlight the evening.

Krolus earned the Jake Jaquet Fighting Heart Award. The Jaquet Award is presented to the member of an athletic squad who is not necessarily an outstanding athlete, but can be, who goes above and beyond what is asked of or expected of his/her and because of this exemplary, unselfish, and at times, unrewarded behavior stands out among his/her peers.

Krolus is a two-time All-Capital Athletic Conference men’s lacrosse midfielder. He is a member of the York College Dean’s List as a nursing major. He has been a Spartan captain for three seasons and leaves YCP as the leader of the school’s most successful senior class for men’s lacrosse. Krolus finished his career with 97 points on 44 goals and 53 assists. He collected 224 ground balls, and caused 31 turnovers. He notched a pair of game-winning goals and had three man-up goals in his 69 games played.

Krolus ranks first in program history in games played, third in games started, and third in ground balls.

Krolus was lauded by head coach Brandon Childs as a player who has helped transform the program through his selflessness and ability to do the “dirty work” on the field for the Green and White. The Spartans have won 39 games in the last two years after 34 combined victories in the previous four campaigns.

Hartung walked away with the Daniel J. Klinedinst Award. The Klinedinst Award is annually given to the most outstanding senior male athlete.

Hartung is easily the most decorated individual athlete in school history. He is a five-time Capital Athletic Conference Athlete of the Year, a five-time All-American, and a 16-time CAC champion. He is a four-time Capital Athletic Conference cross country champion as he was undefeated in conference action in all four years. He owns the fastest 5K and 10K times in Capital Athletic Conference history. He owns the York College school record for the fastest 8K cross country time while he also holding eight school records in track & field.

Hicks earned the Georgia Heathcote-Stallman Award at the ceremony. The Stallman award signifies the most outstanding senior female athlete. Hicks is a two-time WBCA All-American, the first two-time All-American in women’s basketball history. She was named the CAC Player-of-the-Year in February while she finished her stellar career as a three-time All-CAC performer.

Hicks closed out her four years in the Green and White with 1,589 points which ranks her fourth all-time. She pulled in 990 rebounds, the second highest total in school history. She converted a school and conference-record 530 free throws. Hicks made a single-season school record 163 free throws this past season while her 308 rebounds also ranks first on the single-season list.

Hicks was a member of the senior class that leaves YCP owning the record for victories for a four-year class as she combined with three other seniors to win 86 games for the Green and White.

The academic awards were presented in a much different way in 2014. The finalists for each of the team and individual awards were announced. In the past, the two seniors with the highest GPA entering the spring campaign earned the award. Now, the spring semester will be taken into account and the awards will be announced on Wednesday, May 21, once the 2014 spring grades are complete.

The men’s squads in contention for the team award are Golf (3.26), Cross Country (3.20), Baseball (3.18), Track and Field (3.08), and Men’s Basketball (3.06). The women’s squads who are in the running for the team honors are Cross Country (3.56), Women’s Lacrosse (3.50), Field Hockey (3.43), Track & Field (3.41), and Women’s Basketball (3.38).

The individuals in contention for the men’s scholar-athlete award are:

Colin Porter (Hanover, Pa./South Western) – Baseball – Criminal Justice, 3.88

Craig Eppler (Bethlehem, Pa./Northampton)  - Men’s Cross Country/T&F – Finance, 3.79

Tim DeYoung (Newtown Square, Pa./Marple Newtown) – Men’s Tennis – Biology, 3.75

Paul Glassmoyer (York, Pa./West York) – Men’s Cross Country/T&F – Criminal Justice, 3.73

Joseph Corrigan (Northport, N.Y./Northport) – Men’s Cross Country/T&F – Political Science, 3.70

The women’s individuals in contention for the female scholar-award are:

Kelsie Pike (Newark, Del./St. Mark’s) – Women’s Swimming – Mathematics, 3.87

Rachel Berninger (Wilmington, Del./Brandywine) – Women’s Cross Country/T&F, 3.86

Alyssa Molino (Montgomery, Pa./Montgomery) – Softball – Public Relations, 3.83

Melissa Ritchey (Hampstead, Md./North Carroll) – Women’s Lacrosse – Business Administration, 3.73

Kristin Virag (Pottstown, Pa./Owen J. Roberts) – Women’s Lacrosse – Nursing, 3.67


The Spartans had a highly successful 2013-14 campaign as York won over 66% of their contests during the year. They won two CAC regular season championships, four CAC Tournament championships, had four CAC Players of the Year, two Rookies of the Year and four CAC Coaches of the Year. The Green and White had four teams earn berths in the NCAA Tournament while four Spartans earn All-American honors with a few more to likely come after men’s and women’s lacrosse announces their national awards.