Spartan Baseball Selected to Second Straight NCAA Tournament

Spartan Baseball Selected to Second Straight NCAA Tournament


YORK, PA  - The York College baseball team received some outstanding news on early Monday morning as the Spartans were selected to play in the 2010 NCAA Division III Baseball Tournament as announced by the NCAA. The Spartans will participate in the Methodist University Regional in Fayetteville, North Carolina starting on Wednesday, May 19. It is the second consecutive year the Spartans have been selected to the tournament while it is also the third time in the last four years the Spartans have garnered a berth in the national tournament.

The Spartans will have some familiar faces with them as Capital Athletic Conference foes Salisbury University and the University of Mary Washington will also participate in the Fayetteville Regional. The Sea Gulls are the second seed followed by Mary Washington at the three seed while the Spartans are the fourth seed. Mary Washington won the CAC Tournament title to earn the automatic bid while the Sea Gulls and Spartans each earned Pool C at-large berths.

Shenandoah, the USA South Athletic Conference Tournament champion, earned the top seed in the region and will face Old Dominion Athletic Conference Champion Bridgewater (Va.) in the opening round at 11:00 am. LaGrange, a Pool B selection, fills out the six-team regional as the fifth seed.

The Spartans will face Mary Washington in the last game of the first round at 6:00 pm while Salisbury will face LaGrange in the second game of the first round.

The Spartans went 2-1 against Salisbury this year but just 1-3 against Mary Washington for the year including a tough loss in the CAC Tournament's second round. The Green and White was 2-0 against other tournament teams as they defeated LaGrange 9-1 to open the season during their trip to Atlanta and Rowan, a Mid-Atlantic selection, 9-0 on March 28.

Six teams will compete at four first-round sites; seven teams will compete at one first-round site; eight teams will compete at three first-round sites. All first rounds will use a double-elimination format. Thirty-six conference champions qualified automatically as 55 teams earned a berth in the tournament.

Winners of the eight first-round tournaments will qualify for the double-elimination championship at Fox Cities Stadium in Appleton, Wisconsin, May 28-June 1.


Wednesday - May 19

Game One - #6 Bridgewater (23-18-1) vs. #1 Shenandoah (34-8) - 11:00 am

Game Two - #5 LaGrange (26-17) vs. #2 Salisbury (27-11) - 2:30 pm

Game Three - #4 York (Pa.) (28-14) vs. #3 Mary Washington (26-12) - 6:00 pm

Thursday - May 20

Game Four – Loser of Game 1 vs. Loser of Game 2 - 11:00 am

Game Five – Winner of Game 1 vs. Loser of Game 3 - 2:30 pm

Game Six – Winner of Game 2 vs. Winner of Game 3 - 6:00 pm

Remaining schedule will be determined after game six.

Hosted by Methodist University, Fayetteville, North Carolina
1. Shenandoah (34-8)
2. Salisbury (27-11)
3. Mary Washington (26-12)
4. York (Pennsylvania) (28-14)
5. LaGrange (26-17)
6. Bridgewater (Virginia) (23-18-1)